Ports Of Call Forum Index Impressum / Contact
 

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

POCSIM3DII version 1.29 available - now with demo modus !

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ports Of Call Forum Index -> Sim3D II Releases
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5158
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 1:43 pm    Post subject: POCSIM3DII version 1.29 available - now with demo modus ! Reply with quote

Ports Of Call Sim 3D II
rev 1.29:
- current system requirements:
1. Windows XP (dont try 2000 or older)
2. 3D card with pixel shader 2.0 (eg. GeForce 6800 or higher, or
ATI X600 or higher) with 256 MB RAM for textures.
OLDER cards dont work ot work with bad frame rate.
3. Fast CPU -- eg. 2 GHZ or faster - laptops are usually too slow.
4. Main Memory 512 MB
5. Sound Card
6. Direct X 9.0c installed
7. Joystick or better GAMEPAD (USB) for useful play.

without a license it starts in demo modus - so you can try it!

MAIN installer includes all TOWNS etc

http://www.rdklein.de/pocsim3dII/install_std_POCSim3dII.EXE (120MB)

later we will have a online updater also.
preliminary manual (in sync with 1.29):
http://www.rdkleinpower.de/pocsim3dII/std_pocsim3dII_manual_us.pdf

Exclamation And you need the "new eg enhanced" license key (poc.lic) which you get for free if you are a valid platinum customer. If you have already done this already, you dont need to get another key:
(Licenseupgrade)


Last edited by rdklein on Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:48 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5158
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 1:55 pm    Post subject: Queen Mary 2 now in POCSim3DII Reply with quote

We also have the QM2 implemented in out now 1.29 release of POCSim3DII. We also presented and discussed our 3d model to Cunard and there will be a short note in their regular user publication soon.

The model is high detailed, but though it has a medium polygon count, for realtime usage. we tried to keep details as close to the real Queen Mary 2.





and a night scene:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Zootier
PoC Veteran
Gold Licensee
PoC Veteran<br>Gold Licensee


Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 524
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, looks great Surprised

Is it possible to try the POCSim3DII without a platinum licence?
_________________
Visit http://www.pocshipyard.de for free ships and harbours
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5158
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes it is,
without a platinum license it starts in demo modus (there is no network and time per scene is limited to some minutes).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DennisV
PoC Veteran
Platinum Licensee
PoC Veteran<br>Platinum Licensee


Joined: 12 May 2005
Posts: 212
Location: IJmuiden

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@RDK,

What else is changed? I had a framerate of 30/39 and now i only have 15fps?

Same ship same scene same comp!

And stereo license????? how much does it costs and what is it?? (two or more monitors? or stereo audio?)

Regards,

DennisV
_________________
Project GENESIS, MASTERPLAN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5158
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes a lot in the engine had changed, but tell me the scene, so I can check which scene it is (poc scene + ship used cast or berth)
We have new options on LODs, so actually I would have expected an increase of speed instead of decrease.
But carefully check the options menues as mirros, shadow, spray costs time also the radar display.

on the stereo option, you can use different stereo devices,
the most simplest is a red/cyan glas (which be plan to ship with the license), but also a two monitor option (side by side modus) for projectors is possible (using pol filters and pol-glasses), or a interleave version for special headset glasses, rotated view for special mirrors. Other options might follow on request.

We still discuss the price for this options I think will be around 18.- euro including a set of glasses for red/cyan.

The slave option can be used to display radar speed, or an other 3d view on a seperate computer (network), we think around 25.- euro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DennisV
PoC Veteran
Platinum Licensee
PoC Veteran<br>Platinum Licensee


Joined: 12 May 2005
Posts: 212
Location: IJmuiden

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rest of sim3d looks good,

This is the problem.

Cast of new york (qm2) turning left to the statue of liberty (i know right is the way i should go, but i like to see the statue!)

all running well at 35/39 frames until the buildings "pop up" (twintowers first an then the buildings on the left), framerate drops to 18fps and there are "numbers" underneath the framerate (t=all 9's the rest is all zero's)

I didn't changed a thing in the menu, and i was not able to replicate it, (tried it twice for now).

Sim3DII works fine on vista, the above happend in windows mediacenter 2005.

Regards,

Dennis

P.S. let me know when i can buy the licence's

Are you planning on adding more feature's requiering licence's?
_________________
Project GENESIS, MASTERPLAN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5158
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes but that look quite normal, New York is currently our largest scene, when the twin towers become visible, the part is loaded onto the grafic card, we will have some more optimizations in the future on this scene,

but when you turn around to the opposite direction the framerate should go up again.
The numbers are for our test, (depth and some infos),

on vista, does this not happen ?, maybe the swaping of the grafic card is better solved than in the media center ?? --
how much memory does you grafic card has (and which one is it)

on the license, I will have an info shortly when we have setup the shops,
we plan to have some addons in the future as a seperate license like special ships, but for the moment new ships and harbours will be free.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DennisV
PoC Veteran
Platinum Licensee
PoC Veteran<br>Platinum Licensee


Joined: 12 May 2005
Posts: 212
Location: IJmuiden

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

512Mb video ramm (not shared with laptop ramm, but own video ramm)
Geforce go 7600.

Thnx for the info!

Regards,

DennisV
_________________
Project GENESIS, MASTERPLAN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5158
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a new manual is available now in sync with 1.29

a german version will come soon,
eine deutsche version des handbuchs folgt in kuerze.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bachmann1979
PoC Visitor
Unlicensed


Joined: 03 Nov 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:28 am    Post subject: poc3dii and ports of call 2008 deluxe Reply with quote

hi u all

i would like to know the difference in poc3dii and ports of call 2008 deluxe?

how long time till the language will be in english?

will it be in danish too?

kindly regards Jørgen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5158
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

poc 2008 deluxe is a combined version between pocxxl and pocsim3dii, but both with restrictions, e.g. more like the classic dos version but in 3d.
An english version is already finished, you can switch the german verion also to english language, the new international release will have english, spanish, italian and french -- sorry we didnt found a distributor for daenemark ..,
but the internat version will come out quickly (ready since 4 weeks from my side).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ports Of Call Forum Index -> Sim3D II Releases All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group