Ports Of Call Forum Index Impressum / Contact // data privacy / Datenschutz
 

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Home Port For AI Opponents Are Solely Selected By POC

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ports Of Call Forum Index -> XXL Bugreports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sparky
PoC Veteran
Platinum Licensee
PoC Veteran<br>Platinum Licensee


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 297
Location: Germany (Northsea Coast)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:19 pm    Post subject: Home Port For AI Opponents Are Solely Selected By POC Reply with quote

When I start a new game and nominate my AI opponents I am also asked for their home ports.
But what for ??? POC is not interested in my choice !!!

In the majority of cases POC changes my selection and declares another port. I consider this a bug, not a feature. Because ...

... when I select my rivals I have a certain conception where they live and from where they operate. I do not want the game to baffle my strategy in the beginning.
Perhaps settings could depend on the level, where beginners have only the choice of quantity of AI and experts nominate all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Christian Todt
PoC Veteran
Platinum Licensee
PoC Veteran<br>Platinum Licensee


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 1040
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sounds interesting.
this problem didn't appear in my games so far.
I have to try it out. Confused
_________________
Navigare neccesse est
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5195
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its not a bug !
The AI opponent want to check you ! If you select a port which is too bad for him he changes the port, otherwise he checks if its acceptable (which depends also on you selection if done before). This gives some interesting results. This also avoids giving too much hints on good ports which the AI player tries to avoid, otherwise you get advantage on the next games. YOu can never be sure if the homeport is already at an optimum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sparky
PoC Veteran
Platinum Licensee
PoC Veteran<br>Platinum Licensee


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 297
Location: Germany (Northsea Coast)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see Shocked - it's a feature.

But I am not really satisfied to know this. It prevents from creating an authentic environment. I carefully select name of company, owner and home port for each opponent to match up and fit into the big world of shipping, and at the end the AI decides that i.e Panama is not good enough - move to Lae !?! Woooow. Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5195
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the AI player plays by itself otherwise you can give him a bad start ! You can give him a hint but not more.


When you play with your friend and say to him take Panama, he can beleave you or not - and he decides not to take Panama but Monrovia -- thats the same with the AI player its an AI player (artifical intelligence). He might be wrong, but thats another story.


The whole decision process also depends on the selected level. The AI player only plays with the maximum power (I can give him at the moment), when using the expert modus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Llens
PoC Visitor
Unlicensed


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree how the game is done. It is logical. Expert IA requires a good start strategy as every non-IA expert play will do.

So maybe what can be changed is the Company Name & Player's name after the homeport election. Sparky I think this can meet your desires.

Regards,

LLENS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sparky
PoC Veteran
Platinum Licensee
PoC Veteran<br>Platinum Licensee


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 297
Location: Germany (Northsea Coast)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's right - good idea.
First question is for the home port. And company and owner can be named accordingly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sparky
PoC Veteran
Platinum Licensee
PoC Veteran<br>Platinum Licensee


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 297
Location: Germany (Northsea Coast)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but I have to reopen this topic because I am upset again with this feature.

I started a new game with 7 AI players (like last time).
My choice of home ports for them was disregarded 7 times (like last time).
The new choices were 6 out of 7 times exactly the same ports like last time.

This cannot be a coincidence anymore.

List of changes (my port selection was different from last time):
My choice Aarhus (Denmark) was changed to Lae (Papua New Guinea)
Keelung (Taiwan) -> Port Moresby (PNG) (this port was not in the game last time)
Lubeck (Germany) -> Rabaul (PNG)
London -> Mogadishu (Somalia)
Piraeus (Greece) -> Port aux Francais (Kerguelen)
Kawasaki (Japan) -> Ash Shuaybah (Kuwait)
Auckland -> Aden

I have now more than 400 ports in the game - and the random generator picks the same ports again, the first three even located in the same country (PNG) - shaking my head Crying or Very sad

I hope this feature will be changed to the better very soon. Who would seriously consider to operate a world wide shipping company from the Kerguelen Islands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ports Of Call Forum Index -> XXL Bugreports All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group