Ports Of Call Forum Index Impressum / Contact // data privacy / Datenschutz
 

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Android version 1.0
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ports Of Call Forum Index -> Ports Of Call for Android
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5207
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ANDROID Ports Of Call is on the Market now -- might take some hours to become visible --

LINK:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rdklein.portsofcall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
StickyMonk
PoC Veteran
Special Licensee
PoC Veteran<br>Special Licensee


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: South lincolnshire England

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no exit button, only way I can find to exit is hit the home button on the phone
_________________
Cheers
Matthew

for my ships,cargo and harbors don't visit my web site as they are not there anymore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5207
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes this is exactly according to the Android SDK rules** I cannot provide a kill application button is forbiddden to kill the App -- the app pauses in memory when home is pressed (or task switch occurs or a phone call) and is killed only by the system when memory gets low automatically - this is according the android rules. The App does not consume CPU time in this state

But to restart a game you can go to the MENU use the NEW item to start a new game.
I might provide a button to start the app from the first screen (language selection) instead of the gameloop.



** endless disucssion where in the android developer forum about this restrictions. Killing an app leads to instable systems so I cannot exit only pause the app -- - maybe something changes in the future on this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MrPotter
PoC Visitor
Unlicensed


Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice to play PoC on my galaxy tab without the amiga emulator Smile But how is it possible to change the language? When I first started the app I clicked on START but overlooked that this screen was there to set up the language :\

Little suggestion to the exit strategy. Many users expect a close button cause they know this functionality from other android apps. I think this button doesn't need to kill the whole app-process. Instead you should insert a button which does the same as the home button...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5207
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes in the case you missed the first screen, you can exit the app via app manager and restart then POC then the screen will come again -- there use the arrows for a language selection.
I will have an update ready very soon, with an extra option menue (allows a exit app like the home key) the menu will allow for a language changing during the gameplay and setting speaker options (volume etc.), selecting a 4:3 aspect for wide display and some more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Zarax
PoC Frequent Visitor
Unlicensed
PoC Frequent Visitor<br>Unlicensed


Joined: 03 May 2009
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rdklein, have you ever considered a Windows Phone port as well?
With the upcoming Windows 8 it should be pretty easy to re-use the code on different platforms...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rdklein
PoC Veteran
Admin
PoC Veteran<br>Admin


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 5207
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Up to now, the problem was that windows phone only work with C# and not C or C++, so thats really difficult to port, but maybe windows 8 has changed the development system ?? to alow C++ ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Zarax
PoC Frequent Visitor
Unlicensed
PoC Frequent Visitor<br>Unlicensed


Joined: 03 May 2009
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAIK MS released a few tools to help with porting so it might be worth another look...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ports Of Call Forum Index -> Ports Of Call for Android All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group